What Time Zone is Chicago, Illinois?

Entering Central Time Zone Sign

If you’re planning a trip to the Skydeck, you might be wondering what time zone Chicago, Illinois is in. Like nearby Milwaukee, and a portion of the Midwest, Chicago is in the Central Time Zone. Find out more about how many time zones there are in the U.S., and what to expect in the Chicago time zone with the Skydeck!

Is Chicago in the Central Time Zone?

Yes, it is! Not only is Chicago in the Central Time Zone, it’s the largest city in the time zone. During Daylight Standard Time (November through April) the Chicago time zone is six hours behind Greenwich Mean Time. During Daylight Savings Time (April through November) Chicago is seven hours behind Greenwich Mean Time.

How Many Time Zones Are There in the U.S.?

The continental U.S. has four time zones, but when you add Alaska and Hawaii it jumps to six time zones. The location of the time zone borders are based on low population density, not state lines, so some states are in two time zones. Here’s a breakdown of the U.S. time zones and the states in them:

Eastern Time Zone

  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • Vermont
  • Connecticut
  • Rhode Island
  • Massachusetts
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • New Jersey
  • Maryland
  • Delaware
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia
  • Most of Michigan
  • Eastern Indiana
  • Eastern Kentucky
  • Eastern Tennessee
  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C.
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Georgia
  • Most of Florida

Central Time Zone

  • Small portion of Michigan
  • Two portions of Indiana
  • Western Kentucky
  • Western Tennessee
  • Sliver of Florida
  • Alabama
  • Mississippi
  • Louisiana
  • Arkansas
  • Illinois
  • Missouri
  • Iowa
  • Wisconsin
  • Minnesota
  • Most of Kansas
  • Oklahoma
  • Most of Texas
  • Eastern North Dakota
  • Eastern South Dakota
  • Eastern Nebraska

Mountain Time Zone

  • Western North Dakota
  • Western South Dakota
  • Western Nebraska
  • Sliver of Kansas
  • Sliver of Texas
  • New Mexico
  • Colorado
  • Wyoming
  • Montana
  • Southern Idaho
  • Utah
  • Arizona
  • Sliver of Oregon

Pacific Time Zone

  • Washington
  • Most of Oregon
  • Northern Idaho
  • Nevada
  • California

The Alaskan Time Zone and Hawaiian Time Zone contain the states that share their names.

Make Time for a Visit to the Skydeck!

No matter which time zone is your home, you’re welcome at the Skydeck! As one of the most popular attractions in the Central Time Zone, we welcome guests from every state and around the world daily! Plan your visit today.